How should I invest 200k?

28 Replies

I'm located in Dallas, I've been looking at several different options..mutual funds, multi-family, apartments, or franchising. I have access to the VA Home Loan, but there's a lack of multi-family properties in my price range that I'd be willing to live in (approved for $685k months ago). I have no experience in apartments, and I've heard the loan process for those is a completely different animal. I'm not too fond of my job, so I've been looking into franchise resales. Mutual funds have worked well for me, but I'm exploring my options for better returns.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. 

@Michael Nieves , I'd lean towards looking for a property (even an SFR) that SHOULD be worth $1M+ due to surrounding sold comps, but because it's the worst house in the street, it's only going for $685k (for example). Then, you've still got $200k to get into it with some high end finishes etc. Voila! In one year, you'd be adding $100k+ to your net worth!

That's equivalent to a CoC return of 50%+. (Just a thought). Thank you for your service. All the best...

Originally posted by @Brent Coombs :

@Michael Nieves, I'd lean towards looking for a property (even an SFR) that SHOULD be worth $1M+ due to surrounding sold comps, but because it's the worst house in the street, it's only going for $685k (for example). Then, you've still got $200k to get into it with some high end finishes etc. Voila! In one year, you'd be adding $100k+ to your net worth!

That's equivalent to a CoC return of 50%+. (Just a thought). Thank you for your service. All the best...

Great thought, the only issue is that properties get snatched up fast here in the Dallas area and I don't think I'll be working with my current partners after this sale

Another option is HML. I would investigate your state laws and see what you can and cannot do. Returns can be substantial and you won't have to deal with tenants.

Originally posted by @John Thedford :