Favorite Real Estate Books

9 Replies

Hey guys,

I was wondering what books you would recommend on commercial real estate investing. I am just starting out, and I have read Crushing It by Brian Murray, The Complete Guide to Buying and Selling Apartment Buildings by Steve Berges, and will read The Perfect Investment  by Paul Moore. What books have helped you out the most in commercial real estate?

Your friend, 

Nick

@Nick Mulligan

I haven't found many other books that really dig deep into commercial real estate. Part of the problem is it may be too large a concept to fully teach in any one book.

You may have to be a licensed agent to join but if you're seriously considering getting into the commercial world, you may want to look into the CCIM institute and their programs.

That's not the only path into commercial real estate, but it could definitely point you in the right direction.

@Nick Mulligan That is a great question, but I do agree with @Dave Van Horn books can only lead you so far. I would check go to seminars and/or purchase courses on Commercial RE investing. BUT FIRST - you have to get really focuses on what type of commercial real estate you want to invest in, i.e. apartments, self-storage, hotels, cell towers, billboards, retail strip centers, mixed use, office, etc. Then seek out the top teachers in the given type and attend their seminars, podcasts, webinars etc. It is a lot easier to gather information about a particular type than it was years ago, which means learning will be easier. Good Luck! 

I recently read Multi Family Millions, it was great. Principles of Real Estate Syndication Tax Free Wealth, especially the depreciation section, cost seg. think and grow rich richest man in Babylon how to build a real estate empire
Rob Chiang, Contractor in CA (#973403)
(408) 646-4218

@Nick Mulligan