What's the best option for getting a rental to cash flow?

3 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing, and am very interested in a single family rental property currently owned by an aunt. She bought the home several years ago under a traditional mortgage, but pays a ridiculously high mortgage every month compared to how much the house rents for.

Put in a simple matter, she's fed up with the situation and has my immediate family (We live in the same town as the property, while she's living far) managing the house. It's in relatively good shape, hardly any issues, and the current tenant is very cooperative and responsible, he intends on staying for at least another 2 years.

I'm seeing this as an opportunity for my first buy-and-hold property. It currently rents for $650 monthly, while the mortgage is about $865. The principal for the property currently sits at about $86,820, with an Escrow balance of about $850.

This is obviously a very bad deal as it is; my question is what would be the best option to drop the mortgage every month in order to get a positive cash flow, either by refinancing the mortgage, or getting some other loan at a much lower monthly cost?

Any and all answers are greatly appreciated.

David,

Refi, or raise the rent.  Those are your only two options.  $87k is about $450 for P&I.  Don't know what your taxes are, but assume insurance at $50/mo.  If you buy the property from your aunt at $90k, then you could potentially be cash flow for ~$50 per month with the same tenant.  After you factor in maintenance, than might drop to $0, with the tenant only paying off your mortgage as a return.

Keep reading the blogs and forums on BP and you'll see a lot of references to the 1% rule, which means the rent received each month should be at least 1% of the purchase price of the home.  In this case, if the market rate for rent of that home is $650/month, then you should pay no more than $65,000 for the home.