Turn Key out of state - what is your strategy

51 Replies

Hello BP,

so I have acquired 3 turn-key properties since when I started in Summer  and in process of closing on 2 more.

Out of total 5, 2 are relatively close by (PA and NJ) and I have seen them and believe those are great purchases, but the other 3 are "virtual" buys - via turn key providers online...

When I take time to reflect on online purchases, I can't help but think that this is probably not the smartest way to invest my money. Sure, the numbers on paper work and I should be getting positive cashflow every month. Sure, I took all your advises and stash away 10% from all the earnings in case of repairs...

The reason why I do buy these far away properties is two-fold

1. There are no good deals that I am able to find anywhere in driving range from where I live on Long Island, NY

2. I am a newbie and work full time and all these online providers such as Roofstock are great for someone like me

But the more I am getting myself into this game, the more I am concerned that repairs and vacancies will eat my profits away and at the end, the properties are not sell-able too and I will be stuck with them or lose big.

If you are passive investor and invest out of state, I am interested to know what your long-game strategy is?

thank you for reading!

David 

thank you @Jay Hinrichs - I loved your podcast - wow!

How does one go about properly choosing these online investments in the first place, w/o ever seeing the area or properties?

Originally posted by @David Khalfin :

Hello BP,

so I have acquired 3 turn-key properties since when I started in Summer  and in process of closing on 2 more.

Out of total 5, 2 are relatively close by (PA and NJ) and I have seen them and believe those are great purchases, but the other 3 are "virtual" buys - via turn key providers online...