• Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Is growing slowly so wrong?

Michaela G.
  • Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Dec 10 2017, 06:11

I've been investing in Real Estate for +20 years. Started off doing major renovation on Victorian Homes and then selling, in one neighborhood. Then flipped vacant lots in another neighborhood, where I had to do a lot of research to find heirs of owners. 

When the market crashed I started buying houses, sight unseen, from California, in a neighborhood in Atlanta that I knew well - from the time when I was flipping lots there.  At the time other investors told me that I was being stupid buying in that low-income neighborhood. 

The past few years I've created artist communities , since I have several assemblages. That brought in a completely different tenant pool than the normal tenants in this D neighborhood. And I'm slowly buying a few more houses. 

Overall, there's always this hype in real estate investing that you have to push, push, push and buy, buy, buy - bigger and more and scale it up, up, up. 

Personally, I've always just done things that I enjoyed, instead of pushing myself to do the most I could do. I made enough to have a nice life. I don't see the point of being majorly stressed out for 20 or 30 years, so that you have enough money to retire with lots of toys. I rather enjoy life now. I may get hit by a bus tomorrow - who knows?