Advice For a College Student

4 Replies

Hello fellow BP members,

I am a sophomore majoring in civil engineering at the University of Buffalo, I'm 18 years old. I quickly realized that real estate is a GREAT way to financial freedom. I am currently seeking to learn and connect with as many people as I can. My goal is to own 600 units by 2030 by using the BRRRR method. I am hoping to meet people, connect, and learn. I can volunteer my time and energy in exchange for real estate knowledge. Currently I am trying to learn as much as possible. I currently manage the social media page of a real estate agent/investor and learn a ton that way! I was wondering what else I could be doing to reach my goal? What actionable tips do you recommend? What would you do if you were in my shoes?

Thank you,

Shayan

@Shayan S. I think I commented on your other post.

I would advise finishing school on time (4 years) minimizing debt, avoid if possible. Work part time or full time as an intern for some summers. Get the highest Gpa you can.

@Kevin Marino Having a high paying W-2 job is sometimes the best way to get into Real Estate.  It takes a lot of hard work and a lot of Capital.  Once you are established and can start using your equity it can snowball but, it takes time and lots of building.

Read everything you can on BP and look for some good Real Estate books.  Youtube is also a great resource.  Good luck!

@Kevin Marino