Out of state investing

7 Replies

I'm in California and I'm looking at a few opportunities in Texas.

I've heard of people buying property unseen and putting all their faith (and trust) into a local investment group.

If the people you're working with are on the up and up, you've seen pics of the prospective investment properties, and contracts and title are good to go....is there still a reason to actually visit the property and meet the people you're dealing with?

I'm a mortgage broker and half the time I don't even actually meet the people (usually attend signings, but some cities I do biz in are like 100 miles away).

Thoughts?

You don't want to put faith in anyone but yourself. You do, however want to analyze any deal - local or out of state. Just because you see a property doesn't mean it is going to work out for you.

If you hear about a deal from an investment group, investor, or realtor out of state, buying it sight unseen works providing the numbers do as well. If you do your homework and the numbers work out, then the property is worth considering for purchase. I would never buy a home without seeing it unless I was confident in the inspection.

I've bought properties without ever seeing them because I was confident in the numbers, and after the inspection, I was confident in the property itself. It doesn't hurt to have contacts elsewhere, though. If you've got someone you trust bringing you deals, then you should have all the more confidence that the next one will be "legit".