Masters in RE Finance and Development

4 Replies

Good Morning All,

I saw a similar post to this and wanted to ask for some opinions. I am a commercial broker and we specialize in retail leasing and investment sales. My brokerage represents over 80 national brands and dozens of developers who do development for said brands. I learn a whole lot every day just by working, but I have always wanted to complete a Masters and the UW offers a program in Real Estate Finance and Development. I am 26 and would take about 3 years to finish. I would be able to continue working during my schooling. I guess my ultimate questions is, outside of my personal goals to complete a masters, does a Masters in Finance and Development look good enough on a resume AND provide enough knowledge to bring enough value to my clients to increase my brokerage business enough to outbalance the cost of said degree?

Originally posted by @Jameson Sullivan :

Good Morning All,

I saw a similar post to this and wanted to ask for some opinions. I am a commercial broker and we specialize in retail leasing and investment sales. My brokerage represents over 80 national brands and dozens of developers who do development for said brands. I learn a whole lot every day just by working, but I have always wanted to complete a Masters and the UW offers a program in Real Estate Finance and Development. I am 26 and would take about 3 years to finish. I would be able to continue working during my schooling. I guess my ultimate questions is, outside of my personal goals to complete a masters, does a Masters in Finance and Development look good enough on a resume AND provide enough knowledge to bring enough value to my clients to increase my brokerage business enough to outbalance the cost of said degree?

That depends.

Your experience counts for much more than any degree. Most companies realize that "those who can, DO, those who can't, TEACH"