Single family vs multi-family

7 Replies

I’m brand new to this space so I apologize if this question is repetitive. I’m just starting on my real estate investor journey and looking to buy my first property in under 90 days. I have been looking at multi-family properties in the northeast but the prices are more than I can afford out of pocket. Do people find more early success in single family vs multi family ?

Hello Tyler, 

It depends on what your planning to do! Prices are high in the north east and from what I can see rent hasn't kept up. I think if I was just starting out in this market climate I would be doing fix and flips. Right now people are selling homes in a weeks time above asking price, this won't last forever. It will take lot more time to start cash-flowing.Why not create a nest egg and get into rentals later?

A lot of people start out in single family and realize that it just isn't as scalable as multi-family. With multi-family everything is much more centralized. You have less vacancy, more income to cover for capex, multiple units paying for your expenses, etc.

With this being said, single family allows for some creative exit strategies as the end buyer isn't necessarily an investor. There tends to be more appreciation.

I think a healthy mix between single family and multifamily is a good way to go. You can have success either way.