Reprocussions of a Cooling Market

7 Replies

Hello All, 

I'm still very new to to investing so excuse my lack of proper education. 

I live in Orlando where prices have sky rocketed in the past year. All my friends are telling me it's a bad time to buy a house but I know, as long as a I run the numbers and run them conservatively it'll be okay, right? But it did get me thinking, what kinds of things should I look out for when the market calms down?  

I'm assuming the amount I can rent the unit for (mostly looking at SFR and multi family) will go down? How much could it go down? Could the value of the property plumment? So should I lean towards putting more money down? or keep more in reserves? And at what point would a lender try to foreclose a house? When the LTV gets too bad? or just if I can't make the payments?

Anything else to take into consideration in my calculations before pulling the trigger on a house?

Thanks in advanced!

Kento

@Kent M.  "as long as a I run the numbers and run them conservatively it'll be okay, right?"

Not necessarily.....let's say you pay $300k for a house this month. You get whatever you can rent it for, and hopefully have a positive cash flow. Then next spring the market crashes, err readjusts... and next year at this time the house is worth $200k. How does that make you feel?

Of course the house will eventually be worth $300k again, maybe in a year or two, maybe longer, but in the meantime........you just left some money on the table. That you could've done something else with...

Just my humble opinion.

@Kent M. I would ignore the comments from friends unless they have experience with REI. I got push back from friends and family when I bought my first property in a cheaper, less desirable neighborhood. Now I'm sitting on a few properties, some cash-flow, and tons of equity.