What do you do when you analyze a Negative cash flow?

26 Replies

I am new to investing and I am following Brandon's rental cash flow calculator tutorial from bigger pockets.

I've analyzed a property but found it to have a negative cash flow. I remember Brandon saying to play with the numbers and made the deal work before pitching a offer.

Well I tried that and forms my problem is I found my operating expenses are always greater than my rent and therefore it will never make money. Does this mean you should move into the next property or are there things people do to bring this back into a positive cash flow? How would other investors approach a negative cash flow situation? Will playing with the numbers only work if you first have a positive cash flow?

Walk away...period.  On to the next deal until you find one that DOES cash flow positive...without playing with the numbers.  Playing with the numbers is another way of saying, you are negotiating against yourself.

@Josh Thompson the numbers are what the numbers are. You shouldn't be "playing around" with these numbers. Calculate your estimated income and expenses and use those numbers to see what you could offer for the property base on your predetermine criteria (cash flow, cash on cash return, etc). If the cash flow is negative, move on to the next property. I'm guessing the "play with the numbers" was some type of reference on different ways to make an offer, seller financing, seller 2nd mortgage, etc. 

@Josh Thompson

I'm currently reading The ABCs of Real Estate Investing. In the book, the author states: "The seller's asking price is irrelevant." He goes on to say that the numbers need to work, and that is how you land on an offer number. The asking price has nothing to do with it. If the numbers don't work, you gotta walk, or make an offer where the numbers DO work and see what the seller does.

I'm also walking away from a negative cash flow deal right now.