Wholesaling in NY: is it worth it?

13 Replies

Hey all! Wondering your experiences as investors or wholesalers in NY. I'm in upstate NY, not the city. I'm just beginning but am planning on starting in PA (williamsport and Scanton) just for now. I keep hearing how there's not much money for wholesalers in NY and how the strict laws make it a huge headache. What do you guys think??

Hello @Jasmine Russell ,

You may have more opportunities in PA. While I am not as familiar with wholesaling in Upstate NY, many who look to start wholesaling in NYC end up moving onto something entirely different OR get licensed as Realtors. Some of the reasons are the competitiveness of this market (wholesalers, cash buyers & Realtors all contacting the same leads) and the fact that we're in such a crazy sellers market where folks can get even more than market value for their property. Tough to sell someone on the idea of selling their property below market value when so much money is being thrown around here. 

Since Realtors use similar marketing strategies to get in front of sellers (mailers, cold calling, door-knocking, SEO marketing, FB ads, etc) as do wholesalers, prospective wholesalers see the value in being licensed to give sellers multiple selling options. 

Ultimately, the route you choose should align with your long-term goals so I'd definitely gather as much info as possible on NY & PA wholesaling. Happy to share more info on the licensing route if you decide to entertain that idea.

Best of luck to you moving forward!

Abel