Flipping without using your own money

10 Replies

Hello BP community. I'm a complete newbie looking to take the dive and looking into all avenues for financing for my first flip or buy and hold. I keep reading and hearing of purchasing without using your own money but how much truth is there to that? Is it only in a perfect scenario? If so, what would that scenario be? Or is it only with private investors? Or are there actually lenders that are willing to lend 100% of the purchase plus rehab costs? Any advice would be greatly appreciated before my first plunge.

The only way I ever worked a deal without me going into pocket was with me providing the construction side....labor, management, advice, consultation, permits, plans, inspections, everything.....

I don't see how you get anyone to front you 100% without you having some skin in the game........

@Matthew Irish-Jones . Thats exactly what I thought. I keep seeing and hearing about getting started without using your own money but couldn't wrap my head around it. Maybe everyone means private money or a mentor who goes in on the deal with them.. idk. Thank you for the tip though 🙏🏽

I found a deal and through networking found a JV investor. He came in with the money and I did everything else. I had to give away most of the profits but I got my first deal done with no money. Now I don't need a JV partner anymore.

Originally posted by @Belliny Flores :

@Matthew Irish-Jones. Thats exactly what I thought. I keep seeing and hearing about getting started without using your own money but couldn't wrap my head around it. Maybe everyone means private money or a mentor who goes in on the deal with them.. idk. Thank you for the tip though 🙏🏽

The people talking about no money are either trying to sell you a program for money or echoing what they heard somebody else say. There are a few exceptions… Very few.