Shopping for loans in Ohio. First time buyer.

21 Replies

Hey everyone,

I've looked through some of the other posts on this topic but didn't notice anything for my state.

I'm brand new to REI and I'm looking to house hack MF; probably a duplex. I've talked a little bit to two different lenders but I'm worried about what I don't know, which is probably a lot.

I've never had a mortgage before and I'd like to find something with a 3-5% down payment if possible.

My questions are:

What things should I be looking for from a good lender? What questions should I ask them?

Does anyone have any recommendations for lenders in the Central Ohio market? I have received one from a BP member already.

Am I correct in my understanding that shopping around and filling out several applications will only be reflected as one hit on my credit score?

Thank you all in advance for your time and input.

Typically, its 45 days that you can shop around for different lenders with only getting one hit on your credit. Don't be afraid to ask lenders, they all want your business. They know people shop around.  If you find you like a lender better, ask them if they can match rates that you find at other banks. Some will do so. Be careful though, if they have lower interest rates, they may charge you points. Ask your lender to explain to you about such things. Definitely look for a lender that is very informative with your options on types of loans. Also, ask others for reputable lenders that they have used or the realtor that you are working with. It can be very frustrating if they can't get you to the closing table and on time.