Financing in Detroit

14 Replies

Hi, 

I am a resident of Canada, do you know if any financial institutions would finance detroit Real estate with 50% down or more?

I know I cannot get 20% down but I wonder if I could get 50%....

thank you

Filipe

Try BMO Harris & RBC bank, they both claim to lend in all 50 states, but the loan must be >$65K I believe. They will lend to Canadians, 50% LTV but only one investment property.

I will check around for you with some banks in the area.

Yes, this is the struggle every Canadian faces. Getting financing that still makes the numbers work. Interested in the result here. @Al Neal thanks for looking out for us.

@Filipe Matos  how is your experience in the Detroit market? Investing on the outskirts I assume?

Thanks guys, I will look at the canadian banks with connections in US,

as Al will verify soon, there might be even small banks that could lend at least with 50 or more % down.

What I heard before is that US banks can lend after purchase/renovations done at least at 50%.

My experience in Detroit and US is null, I have been investing in Toronto downtown and I might pull out of there now. As of now I am looking at cities with major potential growth like Hamilton and Detroit.

Since I am used to downtown Toronto investing, I would be interested in trying Downtown Detroit and close by hoods. Yeah, I know, I am going totally against the norm, but I see more potential for growth in those areas although is much more risky, I think....

wish me luck :)

I've tried recently (a week ago) to do a cash out refinance with RBC USA but to no avail. The broker went cold as soon as I mentioned that it was on an investment property and it was to purchase another investment property. I'm hoping that it was just that rep and not an overall policy change so I'll try again in a week or so. I'll keep you all posted.