Manuel Diaz
  • Boston, MA
Votes |
What option is best?

Manuel Diaz
  • Boston, MA
Posted May 29 2015, 18:27

Hello BP!

I have been around the forums and podcasts and looking through all the wonderful resources here learning a lot from you all in the past few weeks. I have decided to take it a step further and this is my very first post.

I have always been interested in owning real estate (primarily multi-family units) but I am not quite set up for it yet. I'm going through a debt settlement program and my credit is not where I want it to be. Hopefully by next year I will be in a good enough position to make this dream a reality so I am leaning as much as I can until then an formulating my plan of attack. Could always use another opinion on how to go about it.

A little background: I am an army veteran. I served active duty and national guard. So the VA loan is available to me. I am currently making $300 monthly payments into the debt settlement program as well as saving $500 monthly set aside just for investing. Once that debt is paid I will be setting aside more to my house fund. The sooner the better!

Option 1) VA loan

Low or no money down. No PMI. Sounds good to me but I believe there is a requirement that the home I buy can not require much in repairs. Is this true? I'm hoping to buy a fixer upper and force appreciation at least a little so I can live in the property over a year, refinance, gain some equity ( I think I read somewhere that most banks need you to have at least 20% equity in order to be able to refinance?), and try to do it again.Also, buying at the higher end would also mean a higher monthly mortgage payment, and with limited funds at this time it might not be the right move. But I guess if it cash flows, it might be worth it. One other thing, I believe there is something called a fund fee? Don't know if that's for all VA loan lenders or all lenders in general. Can anyone elaborate on this?

Option 2) FHA loan