Private loan question

6 Replies

Hello all,

I am new to Bigger Pockets, I have been reading the forums for about a year as well as listening to the podcasts on my commute to work. I am also a rookie investor from Texas,  I currently have four rental properties that I have obtained all with loans from a local bank at a rate of one property per year. I have heard a lot about private money loans and it got me thinking, how do you structure a private money loan on rental properties? It seems relatively easy to set up private money with a flip deal because the investor gets their money back within a year if everything goes as planned, but with a buy and hold is your investor in it for the long haul with you? and after its paid off are they still a partner, or is just like a bank just a loan with interest? I have a possible private money investor but he is an older gentleman and I don't know if a 10 or 15 year loan would be appealing to him. I listened to Michael Zuber on the BP Summit 2012 Audio, I would be curious to know how his private money loans are structured. I hope all of this makes sense. Thank you in advance for all yall's help.

Makes complete sense.  

A hard money loan or a private money loan are loans that generally carry higher rates of interest than the prevailing conventional loan rates.  The higher interest means less money from the property cash flow goes into your pocket and more of it pays the lender.  

The loan term can be what ever is agreed to.  Often times the lender/investor will want a shorter term but that is not to say someone won't put money out for the right rate at a longer term.  Again, it is what you can agree to on what the lender and you want.