Seller insisting rent to own, unsure of process

10 Replies

Found a profitable hold property but the seller is insisting on a rent to own contract. Short story is the seller bought the house from wholesaler, used a 82k private money loan(11/16) from a local investor with 1 year minimum interest, 3 year balloon. The seller and I have agreed on a sale price and I asked to assume the loan. The seller won't allow me to assume the loan and is insisting we do a rent to own contract with 10k down,and he continue to cover the taxes and insurance. I've never done a rent to own contract before so am not familiar or comfortable with the agreement he has proposed.

My question is if this is a safe/secure method of transaction and if not why, if yes what steps do I need to follow to cma with title, liens past and future, and ability to finance out in 6-12 months? Thank you in advance for your advice.

Presumably the seller doesn't want to sell right now and have to fork over the remaining 6 months interest he owes. I would consider if offering to pay that yourself and buying the property outright would be more advantageous than jumping through all of these hoops he wants you to

Thanks for calling me yesterday @David Domine . The fact that your sellers investor wants a minimum of 1 year worth of interest is just saying, that even if he pays it off prior to 1 year, per the contract he owes the private investor the remaining amount of 1 years worth of interest plus the payoff. He wants to do an RTO with you most likely because that's what he knows and he doesn't want to pay the sellers closing costs (excise tax 1.78%, title, escrow & recording) out of your down payment. So he chose an RTO so he will pay that later when you pay him off?