$500 Application fee on loan?

16 Replies

Hi all, first post after scrolling through for months. I have an offer through a broker from a construction lender on a 2 family gut renovation in Boston that I'm looking at. Not sure if this is truly "hard money" or what, but no income requirement. They are looking at the project itself, my experience, credit, and cash reserves. The offer looks good so I went to get fully approved, and the broker told me that there is a $500 application fee. Is this normal?

I have always just done conventional bank financing and portfolio loans, so was surprised by this fee. If normal, no problem, but didn't want to be walking into something sketchy. I'll lose the fee if I don't get approved from what I understand. I've never worked with this broker before, met him at a RE meetup, though another broker I was connected with knew him. 

Thanks!

JL

As a broker it really is one of those fee's that is more than likely to ensure he's not working for no reason or that his rates won't get shopped however I have seen direct lenders charge up to $300 in app fees so that could be the case as well. As long as he isn't asking for points up front and his reputation seems to be clean.

Originally posted by @Jonathan Lee :

Hi all, first post after scrolling through for months. I have an offer through a broker from a construction lender on a 2 family gut renovation in Boston that I'm looking at. Not sure if this is truly "hard money" or what, but no income requirement. They are looking at the project itself, my experience, credit, and cash reserves. The offer looks good so I went to get fully approved, and the broker told me that there is a $500 application fee. Is this normal?