Dress for success, really matter??

72 Replies

Hello all! I was just thinking before I go to a new small bank and inquire about financing and opening new accounts, how important are the clothes I wear? Let me tell you about my everyday work attire, I’m blue collar, I’m a commercial refrigeration technician, I wear a uniform. The uniform is clean, tucked in, and I have a good appearance. I don’t dress slovenly for work. Should I change things up when going to inquire about loans, accounts, etc.? Polo shirt and khakis? Even though I turn wrenches, I earn a lot more than expected. When most people enquire about my profession and see my W-2’s they’re sometimes surprised. Should I dress more “white collar”? Should I treat it like a job interview? As in, dress for the job you want? Jeremiah

Hey! I had seen your question and was listening to and old favorite podcast - Episode 124, at 33:00, their lender implies that how they were dressed mattered for getting their first portfolio loan. Best of luck!

This post has been removed.

Just put yourself in the others position. I don’t see where it hurts to go the extra mile. Now if your applying for a roofing or welding job dressing up may work against you. The people loaning the money usually dresses up so is that a clue to follow??🤔

Blue collar workers that are not accustomed to getting dressed up often look very foolish when they do put on a suit. Wearing a suit out of style, one that is too tight, or the tie not properly fit all look bad. Wearing clothes your comfortable in, will help you portray more confidence and sincerity. When you want to borrow money, looking sincere trumps a whole lot of things. 

This post has been removed.