What is the best lender for a 1099?

8 Replies

Hi Bigger Pockets Network, 

I am currently an independent contractor, which means that my employment status/income looks a little wonky on paper. Considering I work from home for my business this leads to what seems like a costly expense. I wanted to know what are some alternative mortgages I can qualify for as an independent contractor. I am looking to buy an investment property in Philadelphia while living in NYC and have enough savings to do so. Let me 

All tips are welcome : ) Thanks! 

@Jane Sosi 2/3 of my borrowers are self employed, they buy more real estate than my W2 borrowers. Anyway, back to your scenario, if you purchase an investment property your income is not as relevant, it only needs to cover your current expenses, we use the net rent on your purchase and we added to your monthly income. Btw, if you are self employed for at least 5 years, only 1 y of tax returns is required. Ah, also, line 30 from Sch C, which is Use of Home as business is actually added to your income, hope that helps

It depends on what you mean by a "little wonky." About half of my buyer clients are 1099 and most don't have issues going to the major retail banks. I would start there and then try some mortgage brokers who can shop around for you. DM me if you'd like strong referrals that can walk you through all your options.

Hi Jason! 

Thank you for your response. What I  mean by "a little wonky" is that it looks like I don't make that much on paper due to what I have to claim for work / expenses. I am wondering if there are certain types of loans that are non-traditional.   

@Jane Sosi

I have never had a W2 and still was able to get financing for investment properties. 

As @Diana Muresan mentioned, you do not need much when buying investment property as long as the property's income can cover all the expenses.