Newbie - How do I structure this in order to cash flow?

10 Replies

I am new to real estate investing and hoping to get my feet wet with my first deal sometime in 2018. My goal is to use the BRRRR method with multi family properties here in the Dallas - Fort Worth market.

I am having a bit of trouble structuring my deals to achieve cash flow. I only have about $3-5k that I'd be willing to use as a down payment. However, my Dad and his business partner are willing to help me get started. My dad's business partner is a multi millionaire and could easily fund entire deals. But having no down payment keeps me pigeon-holed into very small cash flow. My Dad and I have talked about having his business partner front the down payment and getting a bank mortgage, and then splitting the cash flow and equity 50/50 between me and my Dad. But this still seems like it would end up eating up our cash flow as we have to pay back his business partner somehow. 

Has anyone had a similar situation and found a creative work-around? Any input or resources you could recommend would be greatly appreciated!

Blessings,

Blake

Borrow all of the money from him. Buy a broken ugly house at a low price. Fix it (with his money.) Sell or refinance all of his money or more back out.

He would benefit from either you paying him interest or some of the profit from the sale or refinance.

You could do a lease option or lease option sandwich. Never done it myself but I am reading a book now where the investors utilize it. Finding the property would be your only problem. Plus you would have to have a lawyer do the contracts because TREC does not have a promulgated form for lease options or subject to financing. In the book they did all of this pre-08 crash and I have not yet researched if it is still doable but it certainly intrigued me.