Financing options for Developer

10 Replies

Medium sized developer building approximately 50 homes per year.  Funding is almost entirely cash and we’re looking to add a greater percentage of financing.

Problem is that traditional mortgage lending is too inefficient.  Inspections and significant transaction costs slow things down and are not a great fit for our goal of increasing volume.  Have many banks willing to lend and have had discussions about line of credit type financing but haven’t found what I think is the ideal structure yet.

Looking for thoughts on how to efficiently add financing to a 10MM + portfolio.

Thanks!!

@Justin Witkin

I'm a Developer/Builder in Orlando, Florida looking for similar financing for AD&C funding. Curious to see how things worked out for you creating the fund or if you found other avenues. Thanks in advance for anything you're willing to share!

@Giovanni Jordan - Decided against a general fund for a variety of reasons.  We are currently finalizing a syndication raise on a package of SFRs.  Found a "close to" non-recourse lender that will work with dirt (those are few and far between) and have talked to some mezz financers that may be able to help on large projects.  

In sum, still looking for the financing silver bullet, but putting bits and pieces together.  Let me know if you have any questions. 

Hey @Justin Witkin , from what you're saying it, sounds like you are looking for a go-to lending partner or fund to have accessible capital for your projects throughout the year. Most of all you're not looking for any red tape and you want speed. 

I work as an alternative lender, so our business model should be a fit for what you're looking for. Would love to have a conversation to see if either we can support your objectives or even refer options for you. Just think you would get a lot of value out of a conversation. Let me know. Would be more than happy to help.

Originally posted by @Ryan Herting :