HELOC Calculation Misunderstanding

16 Replies

I'm just getting started in REI and went to my bank today to inquire about opening a HELOC. My bank said they would loan 80% of equity. However, when calculating the lendable equity, she used the formula:

Estimated Home Value - 370,000

Current mortgage balance - 276,000

370,000 x .8 = 296,000

296,000 - 276,000 = 20,000

She said my lendable equity is 20,000.

My understanding is that the calculation should be:

370,000 - 276,000 = 94,000

94,000 x .8 = 75,200

Lendable equity should be 75,200.

Am I missing something?

@Brandon Wood

When the bank says they will lend up to 80% in the form of a HELOC it just means they will lend only up to 80% combined LTV between your first mortgage and your second mortgage which would be in the form of a HELOC.

I would suggest shopping around for a bank or credit union that can do better. I have a HELOC out on one of my properties with Navy Federal credit union and they loan up to 95% for HELOCs.

Originally posted by @Brandon Wood :

I'm just getting started in REI and went to my bank today to inquire about opening a HELOC. My bank said they would loan 80% of equity. However, when calculating the lendable equity, she used the formula:

Estimated Home Value - 370,000

Current mortgage balance - 276,000

370,000 x .8 = 296,000

296,000 - 276,000 = 20,000

She said my lendable equity is 20,000.

My understanding is that the calculation should be:

370,000 - 276,000 = 94,000

94,000 x .8 = 75,200

Lendable equity should be 75,200.

Am I missing something?