• Austin, TX
Votes |
Due on sale Clause/ LLC/Land Trusts

Stephen McGrath
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Austin, TX
Posted Jun 19 2021, 13:54

Hello everyone,

I am a new investor with one duplex under my belt and i have scrubbed the forums for information on how to avoid the due on sale clause, for those of you that don't know, this is when you roll the title of a property into an LLC effectively changing ownership. The bank then holds the right to require the loan balance due. I've heard that it "rarely happens" all over the internet but that doesn't sound like a risk I'm willing to take. Some suggest that when interest rate go back up that it could cause this to happen to more investors as the banks will want out of those low interest loans.

I am not a financial expert by any means but in my research I've found a few alternatives that were not easy for me to find:

This "due on sale" clause seems to mainly apply to government backed loans (fannie and freddie). If you get a commercial loan, they don't care if its under an LLC! (I'm in the process of getting a commercial real estate loan and verified this)