Allowable tax deductions

12 Replies

I'm an active investor, but I don't qualify as a professional REI. I'm trying to understand what types of business related expenses I can deduct. I have created an LLC that I will be using to buy my investment properties in.

If I take a trip somewhere to view investment properties, can I deduct those expenses from my earned income when I file? What if I bought a new computer and software to manage my investments?  Or are these expenses deductible only if I'm a real estate professional? 

Thanks. 

Any legitimate expense to find, purchase, manage RE investments allows tax benefits. Travel expenses are deductible that same year. A computer probably must be depreciated. Your tax professional should be able to educate you on that. One thing I have found is some "tax professionals" seem to differ on how items can be expensed. A competent CPA is your best bet. It does not matter if you are a RE professional or a stay home dad. Either way, as long as they are legitimate expenses related to your locating, purchase, maintaining your investment properties you can write them off.

John Thedford, Real Estate Agent in FL (#BK3098153)

I guess I'm trying to understand what tax advantages the real estate professional has over the active investor if the active investor is allowed to deduct legitimate investment/ business related expenses.  Thanks