Tax Lien Certificates

15 Replies

Hello, My name is Gail from Georgia. I am a newbie looking to purchase tax lien certificates out of state. I am looking to purchase online, because some of the tax lien certificate states are too far from me. My state is tax deed state. The reason I`m not sure if I want to purchase tax deeds due to the fact I would not want to get stuck with a non desirable property. My concern with purchasing tax lien certificates, is I would like to know if you are stuck with a certificate that has other liens on it such as bankruptcy or any other liens. Also how safe is it, and what is the work involved to purchase these tax lien certificates online. If any one can please help me with my concerns, it would be very much appreciated.

Best thing I did to learn about tax liens is pay $99 and join the taxlienlady.com

She has many videos on her site about tax liens and getting an understanding. I signed up for one month and crammed in a lot of videos and readings. I do not believe you need to purchase all the other materials they sell but it depends on your experience and how quickly you understand it.

Your questions are too much to answer in this forum as it relates to other liens and bankruptcies as it really depends on the situation. Like anything, the $ is not guaranteed and its a risk. Due diligence is the best way to avoid risks in any investment including tax liens. 

Please note I have no affiliation or association with the website I note above - there are many sites to train on tax liens - I am sharing my experience with that site in particular. 

Hello Chris, Thank you for responding to my post. I saw the taxlienlady on you tube. She joined up with the guys from Fortris LLC. They seem to be a reputable company to learn the stadigies from. Corey and Tom who formed Fotris LLC have been real estate investors for a number of years. I think I'll take the plunge and buy their program to learn the ins and outs. Thank You once again. Gail.