Tax Ramifications... Need advice

7 Replies

So I have a primary residence that I am converting to a rental so that we can purchase another primary.  What kinds of tax ramifications will I see if I sell the property?  Is there a timeframe where its better or worse to make that decision? 

I understand that I am taxed on my cash flow as income and that I can use depreciation and certain expenses to my benefit but I am by no means a tax expert.  Suggest speaking to a real estate attorney?

Thanks,

Speak to a CPA.  But, if you lived in it as your primary for at least 2 of the last 5 years when you sell, the gain is tax free.  You'll have a little recapture tax for the depreciation during the rental period though.

Talk to a CPA who specializes (or at least is recommended by local RE investors. 

There is a tax exemption on gains up to a certain value (maybe $500k) on selling a personal residence. And you can still use the exemption as long as you lived in the house for 2 of the last 5 years. So essentially you can rent it for 2+ years and then sell with no tax on cap gain. 

Yes.

@Ian McDonald

I JUST posted this in another topic:

I think one of the most common and yet biggest mistake people make is that they rent out their personal residence after they've lived in it. The IRS already offers capital gain exclusion of up to $500K for married filing jointly. You can rent it out for up to 3 years and still qualify for the exclusion. Essentially, for most people this will cover any capital gains in the sale of the primary residence (forget the 1031!).  You'd like have to pay depreciation recapture x3 years if you do rent it out.