Will I pay Capital Gains or is it considered an exchange?

8 Replies

Hi, I'm very new to Real Estate transactions.  Before I make a costly mistake I'm hoping someone can shed some light on what the consequences are of selling my condo.  I purchased 04/16.  My then fiancé purchased a duplex 01/17 and we married 09/17.  I can sell my condo and profit around $100k and house hack the duplex so our max out of pocket each month as long as our rental stays occupied is $300.  

How much in taxes will we pay as a result of the sale?  What are our options to minimize our tax liabilities?

Thanks in advance for your assistance, looking to list condo in December.

Congratulations on getting married.

You have owned the condo for over a year, so if sold (and not a 1031 exchange- if it has only been personal use 1031 is not an option), you will pay long-term capital gains on it (0%,15%, or 20% depending on your other income).

Your gain is not necessarily your equity. It is the proceeds on the sale less your basis (purchase price plus significant improvements less tax depreciation).

Thanks for the fast response.  I thought that might be the case. 

You can rent it for a year or two, then 1031 it.

@Danielle Lueck

I am sure you have thought about this already but, I am guessing you will be at 20% capital gain rate (with the joint income) on the 100k gain ( so 20k in the capital gain taxes) 

Under the current code, you can save that 20k if you own the house for at least 2 years. So, maybe you guys can move into the condo for few more months to meet the timing requirement so that you can save that money. 

Duplex can be rented until then, once you are ready to sell the condo and lease is up on the duplex, you can house hack the duplex and sell the condo. Just a thought. 

Note: the sale of primary residence exclusion is 2 out of last 5 years under current law, but the new Tax Changes have proposed the"5 out of 8 years". I dont know what will be final results. 

@Danielle Lueck