Live in manager/maintenance threatening lien to prevent sale

16 Replies

Looking for some advice. I'm about two weeks away from closing on a 6-Plex and the seller just notified me that his live in manager/maintenance guy threatened to put a construction lien on the property. They have no written contract and he inherited the guy from the previous owner. The verbal agreement they had was the manager gets free rent for managing/maintaining the property including repairs, etc. I believe by trade he is a carpenter. Owner pays for all materials and manager provides labor.

My intention is to replace the manager with a paying tenant and manage the property myself. When the manager heard he was going to be evicted by me with a 30 day notice to quit he started threatening that he would put a construction lien to block the sale and also claiming he had a 6 month notice clause before he could be evicted.

As the buyer, should I delay closing until the seller clears this up, or will the legal issues stay with the seller and I won’t have to worry about it after sale.

Has anyone dealt with a situation like this (either as the seller or buyer)? What advice do you have?

@Jason Bilbrey

You may want to talk to an attorney about this.  I'm not one.

I'd figure out what leverage you have before you buy, to force any agreements out in the open. I don't know how your courts treat verbal agreements but most treat them as tenuous at best. Of course anyone can say something was agreed to. However, this should all be part of the disclosure process.

Good luck.  

I would start by reviewing the tenants lease to see exactly what the terms are that you will have to assume for his management services and if in fact you would he required to grant him 6 months before terminating his rental agreement.

Also, in the event you own the property and if in fact the tenant does successfully put a lien on the property during your ownership, you would need to have a court order to remove it.