Son's Illness need to sell or convert? Use IRA$$?

6 Replies

We were hit with a bit of bad luck this year. Our grown son became ill and we are the caretakers, looks like it maybe long term. I'm 64, plan was to retire in 6 yrs. Finances are screwed due to medical et al. Debt $33k, student loans $20k (don't ask) mortgage $312k $250k in IRA. Recent CMA on house $385K. Luckily I'm still employed, but spouse fulltime caretaker. I'm an estimator by trade, contractor on the side & property mananger for friends, wanted to invest in rental property.

If I sell it will pay off all debts, I'd have nothing left after commission but my IRA money. I realize I need more than what's in IRA to manage sick son & any kind of lifestyle.

Do I hold onto house, convert portion handicapped accessible apartment? (I believe once son's maxed out insurance he'd be eligible for medicaid & section 8 to pay rent on unit) Then use IRA to purchase income producing property, to further help?

Thanks

I am so sorry to hear about your son. It sounds like you have some related experience related to purchasing property, but I personally would concentrate on a stabilizing everything else right now.  The right purchase is so critical, especially given your limited funds...and there is a learning curve to that.  There are a lot of moving parts to your situation - no solutions here, but I wish you the best.  

Sorry to hear about your son.  I hope it recovers and quickly.  

Since you didn't provide a couple of key details, such as your current income and how much are you paying out of pocket for your son's medical issues, any answer you receive here is basically guesswork.    

But I think the most important thing for you right now financially is to get your costs under control as much as possible.