Budget to dig myself out of debt now up and running

27 Replies

Let me start with a little background on why I am posting this as it strikes me as a bit of a random post to just throw out there. The weekend of the 9th through the 11th I had to drive from Corpus Christi, Tx. to Clayton, N.C. and back. This gave me roughly 42hrs behind the wheel. I chose to use some of that time to listen to an audiobook that I have been meaning to listen to for a long time, Robert Kyosaki's Rich Dad/Poor Dad. To say that it was mind-blowing and eye-opening would be a gross understatement. I made up my mind then and there to change things in my life, dig myself out of the hole that I had gotten myself and my family into due to my bad financial habits and my ignorance of how money actually works and started devising a plan. As soon as I got it back home I wrote out my plan and forced myself into action. My 1st step was to post on bigger pockets (I have been a pro member for months now and have never posted or been active). I also found and signed up to go to a local REI meeting (I am somewhat shy and I figure that this will force me to come out of my shell and network with others who are in the real estate investment). Goal #3 was get a handle of my finances by developing a budget and stick to it to pay off all my debt so that i can position myself to be able to invest. This is the 1st step to my goal. I have created a budget, it is nothing fancy, I used a word document to list out all my bills and expenses as well as the due dates for the payments. From there, I created an excel spreadsheet making sure that I pay myself 1st and foremost every single paycheck (I am setting aside 20% of my paycheck to pay off debt) and to track where my money is going. In addition to this, I have downloaded an app to my phone that will allow me to track my income and expenses real-time (not sure if stating which one it is would violate forum rules so i will refrain from doing that). Now comes the longe