What to do with $$ if I cash out

9 Replies

I have a single rental, considering selling due to appreciation and just not too interested in the landlord job anymore. My question is what I should do with the funds if I sell, should be roughly $70-80k after all fees. I have no outstanding debts outside of my current mortgage which is $156k Just refinanced with a 30 year. I have a 457 plan through work, I currently contribute $12k a year (max is 19.5 but I can't afford that now). I have no other investments.

One plan was to just hold the 80k in savings and draw from it as needed so I could bump my 457 deposits up to the max for the next 6 or 7 years. I'm 36 and hoping to retire in my early 50s. Maybe pick up a part time job for health insurance then. I can receive my pension at age 50.

Another option would be to invest the 80k immediately, but I'd need to get help as I'm no stock expert.  Any thoughts what you would do if you got out of real estate?

Thanks, 
Bill

If there's no convincing you to remain a landlord and shift your sights to a turnkey provider like REI Nation, the next best thing is to invest in an index fund like VTSAX. It spins off dividends and mirrors the whole market so there is considerable safety as more than just a hedge against inflation.

Many FIRE enthusiasts put every extra dollar they can into VTSAX and are able to retire much earlier than the average person. Best of luck!

1. 6 month emergency fund

2. Roth IRA if under income limit

3. HSA if available

4. Traditional IRA

5. Brokerage account

This question can have multiple answers based on your goals. The ability to draw from you pension at age 50 makes me question if you have a career which would allow you to draw early from your retirement accounts as well (such as a police officer, firefighter, etc.). Do you qualify for that? I believe it's age 51 for IRA/401k without penalty if you fall into this category.