Masking Ownership of Buy and Hold Properties from Tenants

23 Replies

I am planning to purchase properties to hold and rent. I am also planning to manage these properties with a separate property management entity. Is it best to try to prevent the tenants from knowing the name, address, etc., of the owner (in this case myself)? If so, what are the best strategies for doing so? Since I am a beginner, I will be handling all of the property management duties myself, without any employees. This means that I will be doing showings to prospective tenants, inspections, evictions and things of that nature. I will personally be in contact with the tenants which means they can look up ownership and most likely match me up as being the owner.

Thanks

Do a search here on BP for a few different past threads on the issue. Honestly there is no complete anonymity everything can be looked up somewhere and ownership determined.

Me personally I have no reason to disguise who I am and the fact that I own the property. If a tenant talks to me they know that I'm the end of all discussion. If they want to sue me they're likely going no matter who I'm representing myself as to them.

Now asset protection from legal action is a different topic all together, but still I personally have no reason for them to not know I own the property that they live in.

I would recommend using a Land Trust to hold the properties and possibly an LLC to manage or just a simple DBA when getting started.

@Sean S.

Best to identify now a good real estate CPA and discuss with them.

A buddy tells the tenants he works for the owners who are an attorney and local policeman.

Paul