Existing Tenant Questions

14 Replies

Hi All,

First time poster here.  I am currently in the market for another rental property and I have extensive experience dealing with tenants that I have signed to lease agreements.  However, during my current property search I am struggling to find the right questions to ask of existing tenants when walking through a prospective property.

I have a keen eye towards property defect, but when it comes to exactly I should be asking of the current tenants of a property I am interested in: I draw a blank.  For starters, I typically ask how long they have rented the unit and what their feelings are towards the current ownership.

Does anyone have any other recommendations of good questions to ask to the tenants (assuming they are friendly enough to answer)?  My goal is to retain long term tenants in the multi-family properties and I do not want to pry into their business too much if I do end up becoming their landlord down the line.

Thank you in advance and I look forward to contributing my personal experiences everyone as well.

@Andrew Almenar  

"What do you like about this neighborhood?" - I like this question because you're considering buying a house in that neighborhood and, while you may know the neighborhood well (or even if you don't), its great to hear a tenant's perspective.

"What is the feature you like most in your apartment?", "What is the feature you like the least in this apartment". - You may get some pointers on what is good/bad and what some of the maintenance issues.

If you're just walking through, do you really need to disturb the tenants? I would assume small talk about the property is fine, but critical tenant information won't be necessary until after a contract is signed. I'd focus on the asset you're buying; tenants come and go, but you get what you get with the building.