application information verification

9 Replies

I am new to the landlord business and am unsure as to what I can legally ask former landlords and employers.  My property is in Kansas City, MO and I need to verify income.  Is that something I can legally ask the employer, or do I need pay stubs from the applicant?  

The applicant also has several accounts on his credit report showing up as "charge off or collection" with the amounts disputed by the consumer.  Clearly that is NOT a good sign!?  

Am I legally permitted to call the accounts listed on the credit report to find out more about what is going on there?

I have also read some of the forums here already and learned that it is necessary to verify that a listed landlord is indeed the owner of the property.  So I did that and found that the landlord was accurate, but the rent listed by the applicant is much higher than what the landlord told me.  According to many of you all, that (lying on the application) is an automatic disqualifyer.

I am desperate to rent this and get it off the books, but this is beginning to seem like too many red flags, isn't it???

Thank you for your help!

Thomas

@Thomas Hallensleben   welcome to the site!

To answer your questions:

1) There is nothing wrong with asking to see or get copies of pay stubs from the applicant if they are willing to give them to you.  One trick you can do to verify length of employment is look at the "YTD hours" and/or "YTD wages" column and do some math to determine if they've been there that long.  If the YTD wages only add up to 6 months worth, and they said they've been working there 2 years, then something doesn't add up and you don't need to go any further.

2) Charge offs or collections generally mean that someone doesn't pay their bills. There are some exceptions such as medical bills which can take a long time to get resolved by insurance companies, and also identity theft which can cause a mess on their credit report.