What to look for in a property manager?

5 Replies

As an investor, I found that many realtors and property managers just did not get it when it came to investors goals.  Result: i just started my own real estate brokerage and property management firm, On Demand Realty.  You can view my PM pages on my site and provide responses to question below.

Question: I know what I am seeking in a property manager, but would like to get pro's and con's from other investors and those in the PM field of what sets the good ones apart from the bad ones in the minds of investors and industry peers.

All opinions are greatly appreciated.

I am a property manager and have almost non-existent turnover of clients. I believe the main reason is my communication. I always let the owner know what is going on at his/her property. Even if nothing has been happening, just collecting rent, I still send them a periodic e-mail stating that all is good. I also really care about their properties. If something needs to be taken care of, I let them know and I take care of it.

If you do these things, you will be way ahead of the rest of the pack.

Originally posted by @Bob Lowry:

As an investor, I found that many realtors and property managers just did not get it when it came to investors goals.  Result: i just started my own real estate brokerage and property management firm, On Demand Realty.  You can view my PM pages on my site and provide responses to question below.

Question: I know what I am seeking in a property manager, but would like to get pro's and con's from other investors and those in the PM field of what sets the good ones apart from the bad ones in the minds of investors and industry peers.

All opinions are greatly appreciated.

Here is a link to a few BP blogs on PMs: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2014/09/27...

Kudos,

Mary