Rental Inspections (City)

11 Replies

I'm looking at buying a home in Brownstown Township.  I have 1 rental that was my primary and converted into a rental when I moved in December 2010.  Apparently Woodhaven instituted a certificate of occupancy in April 2010, but I only realized this, this week after looking up local city websites.

I see that Brownstown requires a rental to be registered in 30 days, followed by a rental inspection (180 bucks).  

I have no experience with these inspections.  They have a 15-page checklist on the website, very thorough, looks as thorough as a home inspector would be to me.  This particular home I know I'm going  to run into some kind of problem because the basement is mostly finished, but even I know it's not to code just from what I can SEE (let alone vapor barriers and whatever).  Ther'es a sectioned off room with door, no egress, so I know I would catch flack on that if the inspector is paying attention.  Also, near where the laundry area is, they put a toilet over the cleanout and built a separate walkin shower right next to it.  It's not a 'bathroom', more like a toilet, with a walk in shower.  There is a wall with door that closes over that area (toilet, walkin shower, dryer/washer, furnace, etc, but the 'bathroom' isn't sectioned from the furnace and dryer/washer.  I have no idea what an inspector would say about that one.

The house was build in 1976 and has no GFI's or anything.  That stuff i would need to install, probbaly a coupole more smoke alarms also, but not worried about that.  Everything else looks mostly ok, but that basement scares me.

Codes change alot, and so I don't know how it is expected to have every home up to the latest and greatest.  Safety stuff, sure, but buildings were built differently through the decades.