Property Managers as bad as everybody is saying?

19 Replies

I'm fairly new to bigger pockets and would like to start investing soon after graduation. It seems to me a great way to get some initial experience would be to become a property manager for a small, local investment company. I keep hearing/reading that no real estate investor ever claims to have a good property manager. It seems these problems arise from unloyal/lazy managers. With my work ethic I feel as though I could eliminate these problems. My question is, is there a need for more property managers? And if so how would you want to be approached by a property manager from an investors standpoint?

Hi @Adam Griffis  , 

As a property manager, I am interested to see what response you get here. Unfortunately, the property management business has a tough reputation due to some bad eggs that take advantage of the trust and fiduciary relationship they are given. That said, part of the reason I entered the property management business is because I knew I could create value for my clients, and differentiate myself with professionalism. 

Its a mixed bag.  I had a stellar one in St. Louis, when we bought rentals down here in Atlanta in similar price ranges I fired 8 of them before I gave up and self managed.  I think its more the quality of the tenant than the management company in that case, BIG difference in culture between the two cities in that price range.

I had rehab crews so really never turned anybody loose to make extra money by doing unnecessary repairs or over paying for them out of ignorance on your dime.  

@Dan DeMott  

Great to hear from someone who is already in the business! How did you originally get connected with your clients? Meetings, cold calls, forums? I feel like a lot of the Property Management business is relationships?