Fixing problems with a Lease to purchase home

4 Replies

Hello, I am new to the rental world and have a question.  I own a home, and have set up a lease to purchase contract with a tenant.  At the inspection of the property before the contract was signed we pointed out the issues the home had.  It needed siding and 2 of the bathroom showers needed updated tile.  The tenant was aware of these issues and signed the contract anyway.  He is a general contractor and is now (6 months later) wanting us to let him replace the siding and re-tile both bathrooms, and take that cost off the final sale price of the home.  I feel like that is something that he should have requested before the contract was signed.  The siding is leaking in one spot, and we offered to have it fixed, but he does not want us to hire someone, he wants to do it himself, and not just fix it, but replace it all.  Any suggestions on how to handle this issue?

Hmm..have you gotten any quotes on getting the repairs done? If you have, tell him how much you would have paid to get it done, and that you are not willing to reduce any more than that amount (if it seems reasonable to you of course) to the final cost of the house. 

If he agrees, write up a document stating that you are not responsible for the repairs and he agrees that you aren't. If you both agree, I see it as a win win, no out of pocket expense for you in the time being, and you don't have to deal with making sure it gets done..it would be his responsibility.