Tenant called about a snake

15 Replies

One of my tenants called today and said there was a copperhead snake near the storage building in the backyard.  My lease clearly states that pest removal is the tenant's responsibility.  I always try and do the right things for my tenants but wildlife removal companies charge quite a bit of money for their services and most likely by the time they get out to the house the snake will be gone and even if it is not and they remove it there is a good possibility another could show back up.  My question is what is the liability if someone got bit, yes I know people can sue you for any reason but I was just wondering if any of you have through this before.

I'm not a lawyer but I imagine if they called and you sent out a pet removal service that would look better if they got bit. 

However they may also view that as you taking responsibility. I worked for a company that wouldn't remove any snow from the parking lot because their lawyer told them they were better off letting it be "mother nature" vs them messing with it.

Medium head icon colorRyan Dossey, Call Porter | http://Callporter.com | IN Agent # RB15001099

While pest control may be the responsibility of the tenant, I would certainly want to do everything I could to help my tenant deal with something as potentially serious as a venomous snake.  Does your city/county have an animal control department?  If so, in some jurisdictions they will come out and remove the snake for you at no charge.  If they won't, they may still be a good resource and be able to directly you to someone who can. 

That's why leases are in writing. Your responsibilities are clearly spelled out. So are the tenant's. If pest control is tenant's responsibility, then it's the tenant's responsibility. Sometimes we have to train our tenants to handle things that are their responsibility.

Michael Hayworth, Home Front DFW Remodeling | 817‑697‑5021 | http://www.HomeFrontDFW.com