When to replace A/C & Furnace?

10 Replies

Hi all! I'm new to BP and was hoping to get some advice. I have a 25 year old single family home with its original A/C & furnace. The A/C unit is pretty rusted outside but still functions. However, my tenant notified me that there is water leaking from the humidifier and drain so there is a small puddle underneath the furnace. Most likely the drain pipe is clogged which I can service or take care of myself but the repair could be more expensive.

In November 2014 the furnace had a minor issue with the furnace thermo coupler which cost less than $80 to repair.  The furnace is also 25 years old. 

Should I replace the furnace and A/C to reduce future problems or keep repairing & servicing so I don't have to make such a big upgrade right now (tenants are planning on staying here for 2 more years)? 

I would call a professional to let you know what exactly the problem is.  Hopefully the repair wont break the bank. If its repairable Id repair it and start getting quotes and  get the cash/financing to replace in the near future. 

It's always good to have a trusted professional (HVAC) that you can have look at and service the unit and ask them their opinion.   Get quotes and go from there.   When I say trusted, make sure they are not just trying to get you to put a new one in to make a few bucks off of you.