Student rental process

28 Replies

Hi Everyone, long time lurker, first time poster.  I recently purchased a 6 bedroom/2200 sq ft. house near a small university in our town. The contractor that bought renovated it himself with the thought of putting college kids in there. He needed money on other projects however, so I was able to get it on the cheap. I have only rented to families before, and planned to do so with this house as well. Problem is, families have balked at the house so far (I've even had one lady tell me my house was "too big", and she had 4 kids!! What??). I have however had groups of college kids want to rent since it's so close to campus. I've never done the student rental thing before. All the general applications and leases that I use are designed with SFHs in mind, and are 2 or 3 page leases. I had someone at a recent landlord assoc. meeting show me their kid's student housing lease, and it was 30 pages! I thought about just copying that lease and changing the relevant information.