Rental Capitol Gains Taxes

8 Replies

Good Morning Bigger Pockets Faithfuls!

I found a great multiy family rental, it has 7 total units and I think I can get it at the right price. 

My remaining issue is the tax implications of owning the property, I have the property tax covered with the calculator but I am concerned about the capitol gains tax. The rentals will make approximately $4,375 per month but that will only produce a positive cash flow of roughly $700.... Will I have to pay capitol gains on the entire $4,375 per month or just the $700 per month. 

Any suggestions on where I can Learn more about this?

Cheers,

GettingaGrip

I have done all the calculations for you and determined that you will pay $0.00 in capital gains.

I would show you the math but think it would be best for you to figure it out on your own.  It is really simple math.  Perhaps reading the definition of capital gains would be a good first step.

Thanks Chris,

I am new to this and may be using the wrong language....perhaps it's income tax that I am concerned with paying. My concern is that I will be taxed on the full amount of rent I bring in and not just the properties positive cash flow. Can you confirm that or possibly point me in the right direction to research?

Originally posted by @Robert Perkins :

Thanks Chris,

I am new to this and may be using the wrong language....perhaps it's income tax that I am concerned with paying. My concern is that I will be taxed on the full amount of rent I bring in and not just the properties positive cash flow. Can you confirm that or possibly point me in the right direction to research?

No need to be concerned.  You won't have to pay tax on your gross rents.  You'll just be taxed on the rent you received MINUS any allowable deductions (i.e. mortgage interest, property tax, operating expenses, depreciation, repairs, etc).