Screening and selecting tenant question

6 Replies

Hi, I am new to being a landlord. I got some pretty good applicants (at least on paper) on my first time showing the house. I have 3 questions:

1. I know there are some applicants they are not going to afford the house. But they still fill out the application. Do I have to verify their income/reference just because they submit the application? 

2. Among those who can afford the place, there are four types of people I categorize: a. working single guys. b. part-time working students (but there is one group particularly polite) c. stable family with two older kids. d. section 8 family with younger kids. In terms of prediction on how long they will stay there, how well they will take care of things, and other factors. Any suggestion who should I take first?

3. There is actually two units in the apt. I would like to hear some experience pairing clients. After all, less conflict would be better for me. 

Thank you. Any advise would be appreciated.

I'll have to disagree with number 1.  You pre-screen and eliminate low income tenants by phone or email and they never set foot in the rental or get an application. Establish your criteria beforehand.  Ask what their credit is like (people with bad credit will know they have bad credit), employment, income, landlord reference, etc.  All this before they get an application.  You will save tremendous amount of time and effort if you do a thorough pre-screen.

1. No, you just stated they do not meet your income requirements so what is the point in looking deeper?

2. I wouldn't base it on familial structure.  I would call their previous landlord(s) and see if they paid their rent and if they caused them any problems.  I would also go online and look for prior evictions and also ask them for proof of income.