Inflation increase/rent increase

4 Replies

I'm new at RE investing and I own a few investment properties that are being rented out. We have a property management company that deals with everything, so my question is... When inflation goes up, rent goes up (not sure all the time?) so with dealing with property management, as a landlord, are we allowed to up the rent? How does that work with the property management? I have not contacted my property management about this yet. Just wanting to get advise. Thanks in advance.

good question.. I like to raise rents when a property turns over or I renew a lease and the market justifies it.. I look more at what comparable units in my area are going for to determine if I need to raise rents..you are right that your costs (insurance, materials, labor, etc) do often go up over time, but I don't try to explain the concept of inflation or the consumer price index to tenants. I have heard of people raising rents a set percentage annually (3 or 5 percent eg) but I prefer to look at the actual market (because your tenants will also be looking at comparable units, so you want to be competitive)....and just being in rentals over a decade, I can say the small market increases add up over time....also, I self manage but I suspect you could discuss market rents with your manager and possible increases.