Votes
Ashley Thomas
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
Tenant Noise Complaints - Best way to handle

Ashley Thomas
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Sep 26 2016, 12:24

Hello BP Community - I'm Ashley. I am new to BP and relatively new to landlording as well. My first (and only) deal is a 3 unit multifamily building that I'm currently house hacking. 

I live on the first floor and have tenants occupying the 2nd and 3rd floor units. My issue is that the two tenants are both trading noise complaints against each other and I don't know the best way to handle the complaints. I don't really want to lose either tenant but the complaints are too much at this point and I want to know how best to resolve. Can you help?? 

The 2nd floor tenant is very LOUD - in general. She's a loud talker, has loud phone conversations, loud homework help with her kids, loud cooking, loud everything, and the walls are thin. I've sent her emails on the noise levels (noise that I've personally observed) and she apologizes and promises to address, but eventually she gets loud again, slowly but surely. I think it's just her nature, and she's always home which only increases the frequency of the noise. She also complains often about minor, non-issues. She's annoying but pays on-time and was one of the best applicants (on paper). Her unit is immaculate, as she's always cleaning, which is another plus. 

The 3rd floor tenant is very quiet (from what I can tell from the 1st floor). She rarely complains about anything and is rarely ever home - I actually never hear from her, it's great. Her unit is also kept very neat and clean and she also always pays rent on-time.