New owner wants to change old lease

5 Replies

Hey BPers! Just joined and first time posting.

I am fairly new to investing and am looking at purchasing a duplex that is bank owned. Current, long-term tenants in place. One issue I don't love about the current setup: one electrical service entrance/meter and the current owner (bank) pays all utilities for both tenants. I wouldn't want to come in and rock the boat too much, but am thinking of potential options to assist in cash flow. Utilities are approximately $350/month. Considering 1) modifying agreement to say landlord will pay first, say, $200 and the tenants split anything over this amount, or 2) exploring adding second meter (don't know cost on this/don't know current wiring setup, or 3) raising rent (which is low) to absorb some of the cost of utilities.

Anyone dealt with this type of situation or something else where you've had to come in and be the "bad guy?" Any creative or alternative ideas here? Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

As a tenant I would object to this ,  if tenant  in unit 1 is a single male living alone , and tenant in unit 2 is a single mother with 2 kids . By splitting the difference , the tenant in unit 1 is subsidizing tenant 2 .  A single guy will generally use less electric than a family of 3 

I think it depends on the standard in your area. Are other landlords in the neighborhood paying utilities?

Personally, I’m not a fan of paying any utilities. We pay water and sewer in 2 of our fouplexes and I think it encourages waste. When the faucets leak or toilets valves run, they never tell us. However, paying the water is the standard in our neighborhood and getting separate meters installed is cost prohibitive. We raised the rent on most of the units.

If there’s a way to have separate meters installed, I would go that route.

Adding a second meter is not cheap but you will be much happier in the end.