Maintenance for Independent Landlords

9 Replies

Hi, I'm just starting out as an independent landlord and have found the maintenance requests and sourcing of qualified maintenance people difficult. Is there a tool or service that can help me find people quickly? Right now, I'm doing many of the fixes myself but the turnaround is slow and I definitely don't know how to do everything

I found my awesome handyman by a referral from a realtor.  He actually taught me how to do common repairs ( holes is drywall) so now we only use him for bathroom remodels and kitchen countertops.  Ask around, and when you find someone you like, take very good care of them.  

I have also used Home Advisor/ Yellow Van Handyman when I lived in Tacoma.

Another tip is go to Home Depot early in the morning.  The go getter handymen will be parked in the "pro" section of the parking lot.  You want a guy with truck full of tools who is there early in the morning ready to go to work.  Snap a photo of the ad on the side of his truck or van, and give him a call.

So y'all suggest really just trying to take the time to find a single person who is a jack-of-all-trades vs. trying to find multiple people who each specialize in a particular area?

Also, how much should I try to budget annually for maintenance repairs to my unit (as % of rent)? Is there a benchmark for that?

Originally posted by @Kirk Hayes :

So y'all suggest really just trying to take the time to find a single person who is a jack-of-all-trades vs. trying to find multiple people who each specialize in a particular area?

Also, how much should I try to budget annually for maintenance repairs to my unit (as % of rent)? Is there a benchmark for that?