tenant complains that she is always cold

16 Replies

I am fairly new at landlording. I've been at it maybe 2 years and have had mostly positive experiences. I have a few section 8 rentals. An older woman just moved in a SFH and complains of being constantly cold. She says the heat wont stay on (handyman checked - it heats to the set temp, 80 degrees and then turns off). The previous tenant never mentioned a problem. The furnace is maybe 10 years old. The house feels warm when I walk in. She has a space heater going in her bedroom and sometimes uses the oven in the kitchen. She hasn't been sleeping at the house because of the cold and it isn't even winter yet. What should I do? Should I let her out of the lease? This would be a hard time to replace her but an unhappy tenant is a headache. I am going over this week to winterize the windows with plastic.

Have a *licensed* HVAC tech look at the unit, not your handyman. If they give it the thumbs up in writing on the invoice, not your problem. Older people have decrease circulation, they start to always feel cold as they age.

Thanks, Levi T.  I'll make the call.

Get an HVAC guy there... and if she's a good tenant, I'd try to be friendly with her... ask about her circulation. In a very nice way, you don't want her thinking you're saying it's in her mind or anything.  Maybe what she needs is a trip to the dr. As mentioned, older people often have trouble with circulation. Personally, I have always had personal relationships with my tenants. I know, it's supposed to be all business. But there's a mix. When rent is due, it's business. If you don't pay, you get a 10 day notice. Period. First day... but if they're good tenants, I remember their birthdays, give Christmas cards, and certainly, have no issues asking them if they have thought of seeing their dr. You can be friendly without being friends.